Lexicographic Index & Sums

Alexafjb

Hello Everyone!!! Newbie here!

I've been look around the board the last few weeks, and I'm trying to put together a macro in excel 2007 that will give me all the "Lexicographic Index Sum's" that add up to say ie."160" I'd also like to maybe, be able to reduce those numbers down to, Lex combinations that contain only 1 to 4 Prime Numbers, that once again add up to ie."160". I've read many threads on macros to get Lex, but nothing close to what i'm looking for. The 2 Games I play, that is... when I play are 6/49 & Lotto Max Canada. Has anyone come across any codeing similar to what I'm looking for? If so, please point me in the right direction.

Oh and Happy, Happy, Holidays!

PAB

Hi Alexafjb,

Welcome to the Forum :agree: .

Alexafjb said:
I've been looking around the board the last few weeks, and I'm trying to put together a macro in excel 2007 that will give me all the "Lexicographic Index Sum's" that add up to say i.e."160".
I am not sure how well you know Macro's but the Macro below will produce ALL 158,923 Combinations that sum to 160 in a 649 Lotto.

Option Explicit
Option Base 1

Const MinA As Integer = 1
Const MaxF As Integer = 49
Const SumTotal As Integer = 160

Sub SumTotal_PAB()
Dim A As Integer, B As Integer, C As Integer, D As Integer, E As Integer, F As Integer
Dim Count As Long
Dim Sum As Integer
Dim n As Long
With Application
.ScreenUpdating = False: .Calculation = xlCalculationManual: .DisplayAlerts = False
End With
Range("A1").Select
Count = 0
For A = MinA To MaxF - 5
For B = A + 1 To MaxF - 4
For C = B + 1 To MaxF - 3
For D = C + 1 To MaxF - 2
For E = D + 1 To MaxF - 1
For F = E + 1 To MaxF
Sum = A + B + C + D + E + F
If Sum = SumTotal Then
Count = Count + 1
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 0).Value = A
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 1).Value = B
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 2).Value = C
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 3).Value = D
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 4).Value = E
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 5).Value = F
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Select
End If
Next F
Next E