Lexicographic Index Numbers / Combination Sequence Numbers (CSN's) for a Lotto.

PAB

Hi Serge,

serge said:
It's not that I didn't want to go with VBA it's just that I have no knowledge what so ever about it, I know they are faster and can handle huge task.
The thing with the Function that I wrote for you is that it is EXTREMELY flexible with regard to what you do within your WorkSheet. By that I mean that you can delete columns and rows, insert columns and rows, move data etc, etc, etc, and you don't have to worry about mucking the Function up because it's the Array Formula that is IMPORTANT because it's the Array Formula that uses the Function.

serge said:
The formulas system you created is so close to be accurate, did you look at what was the problem and get the right return?
No, and to be honest I will have another look at it in the future when I have got time to fully re-think the problem with the parameters. It is not as straight forward as you think.

I hope this helps!

Regards,
PAB
:wavey:

-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-∏-
12:45, restate my assumptions.
(1) Mathematics is the language of nature.
(2) Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers.
(3) If you graph the numbers of any system, patterns emerge. Therefore, there are patterns, everywhere in nature.

serge

Hi PAB,

So if I understood you right, I can move , delete, add, etc... anywhere on the file, as long as I put those 5 Array formulas it will return the combinations needed.

For the formulas system if it too difficult , forget about it.

I did copy and paste the code in my new file and it return the same combination on all the rows ?

Question : Your file name is : Lex2Num
mine is : Combinaisons a Jouer

Does is need to be change is the code ?

Thank you.

Regards,
Serge.

PAB

Hi Serge,

serge said: